A booming success, the Zamboanga City State Polytechnic College (ZCSPC) Palaro 2015 was conducted on September 1-6, 2015 at the ZCSPC campus. It was spearheaded by the faculty, staff and students of the Physical Education Department (PED) led by PED Director, Assistant Professor Ma. Christina G. Wee.

The event bannered the theme, “From Local to Global: Glocalizing ZCSPC sports Through ASEAN Harmonization”. Gracing the opening and closing ceremonies were Hon. Councilor Charlie M. Mariano and Hon. Mayor Ma. Isabelle Climaco-Salazar, respectively.

Dr. Nora M. Ponce, ZCSPC president, lighted the mother urn and declared the Palaro formally opened. Ms. Jean Banogbanog, Gold Medalist MASTS 2014 and Bronze Medalist, SCUAA 2015 led the recitation of the Athletes’ Oath while Ms. Wee led the recitation of the Officiating Officials’ Oath.

Over-all standing of the different contingents is as follows:

Champion – Department of Technology Education

1st Runner-Up – Teacher Education Department

2nd Runner-Up – Institute of Technology Education

3rd Runner-Up – Department of Maritime Education

4th Runner-Up – Ayala Campus

5th Runner-Up – Vitali Campus

6th Runner-Up – Department of Arts and Sciences

Tournament managers were: Over-all Tournament Manager –Ma. Christina G. Wee, Assistant Tournament Manager – Emie S. Misil, Athletics – Victor Mohammad and Ma. Flor Jessamine A. Natividad, Badminton – Romeo S. Francisco and Grace Rosette Toribio, Basketball – Cyprus Phil Cadavedo and Arianne Montenegro, Chess – Edgar Coronel, Lawn Tennis – Darwin Tahil and Amada P. Tahil, Sepak Takraw – Alberto A. Nieva, Softball (Women) – Michael Anova, Softball (Men) – Armilo A. Almodiel, Swimming – Emie S. Misil, Volleyball – Dexter Paclibar and Table Tennis – Angeline Magbanua and Ronel Perominga.

Jury on Appeals was composed of Roy L. Valesco, Chair; Ma. Christian G. Wee, Assistant Chair and all Tournament Managers as members.

This year’s Mr. and Ms. Palaro are Mr. Department of Arts and Sciensces (DAS) and Ms. Department of Technology Education (DTE), respectively.



Dr. Nora M. Ponce (left) and city council Hon. Charlie Mariano, prepare to hoist the ZCSPC Palaro color.


City Mayor, Hon. Isabelle Climaco-Salazar (second from left), who graced the Palaro closing ceremony, is flanked by Dr. Nora M. Ponce (second from right), ZCSPC President and Prof. Benhar J. Tahil (extreme left), VP for Administration and Finance and concurrent VP for Academic Affairs. Also in photo is Dr. Roseller B. Sebastian (extreme right, back), VP for Research and Extension.


Prof. Romel G. Guillermon, Dean, Department of Technology Education (DTE), receives over-all championship trophy from De. Nora M. Ponce, which DTE bagged.


The Champions – Department of Technology Education